New website about the history of Chats’ Palace

“Chats Palace has presented and encouraged a wide variety of music, comedy, theatre, dance, carnival, disability arts, photography and other art and social initiatives for over 35 years.

The building that hosts Chats Palace was established in 1913 as a Carnegie library for the betterment of the people of the East End. The library closed in 1974 and soon after the building was reclaimed by members of the local community.”

What Is Chats’ Palace? is a great new website covering the history of the venue / community facility, and other things.

There is a nice introduction to the project here and an invitation to drop by and get involved here.

Also of interest so far:

I think the project is well worth supporting – Chats Palace was the venue for a load of political/benefit gigs throughout the nineties (including Hackney Anarchy Week and a poll tax benefit which ended in 19 arrests) and I’m sure has a long history of radical/community activity. I’ll certainly be keeping an eye out…

One thought on “New website about the history of Chats’ Palace

  1. Dear Hackney Radical History,
    My name is David Ellis and I am a PhD Student at the University of York working in contemporary British history. I am currently involved in a project on community action in urban Britain in the late 1960s, 1970s and early 1980s. I am particularly interested in the local politics of housing and planning at this time and the work of grassroots community groups on other issues like adventure play, community publishing and childcare. I was wondering whether you might be able to advise me on where I might be able to find the records of community action groups that were active in Hackney in this period. The difficulty in finding these records is that often groups folded many years ago and very few of them deposited their records in official institutions (often for good reason!) I hope to use the Borough Archive when it re-opens but that will only take me so far. In addition, I was wondering whether you might be able to put me in touch with anyone who was active in community politics in Hackney in the 1970s who would be willing to speak to me. Thank you in advance for your help and I look forward to hearing from you. You can e-mail me at either davidinwrofy@gmail.com or david.ellis@york.ac.uk Before I go, I wanted to add that I have found many of the docments and videos you have uploaded onto this blog to be very useful for my research!
    Best wishes,
    David Ellis

Leave a Reply

